fgipclgo.jpg (11069 bytes) fedfacts.jpg (12250 bytes)
A publication of the Federation of Government Information Processing Councils


James D. Buckner, President of the Federation of Government Information Processing Councils (FGIPC), and CIO for the Army Materiel Command, has announced the winners of FGIPC’s 1999 competition for Intergovernmental Open Systems Solutions (IOSS) Awards.  The awards were presented on June 22, 1999, at FGIPC’s Management of Change Conference in Dallas.

This year’s recipients are the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for its Enviromapper project, and the U.S. Department of Justice for its Bulletproof Vest Partnership Program.

Receiving the Gold Award on behalf of the EPA, was David R. Wolf, Geospatial Data Manager.

The Enviromapper project provides easier access by the public and the local community decision-makers to integrated environmental information on the effects of pollution in the community.  It also allows more active participation from the environmental justice community with regard to environmental permit issues.

Enviromapper partners included data providers across the Federal government, including the U.S. Geological Survey, the U.S. Department of Transportation, and the U.S. Department of Commerce.  Core technologies applied were database management, including data warehousing and geographic information systems technologies provided through the Internet.

Receiving the Gold Award on behalf of the U.S. Department of Justice were Lluanna McCann, Operations Chief, State and Local Assistance Division, and Chris Gardner, Deputy Director, IRMD.

The Bulletproof Vest Partnership Program (BVPP) uses the Internet to enable law enforcement jurisdictions to dramatically increase the speed and flexibility of their requests for funding; in addition, the administration and management of the bulletproof vest grant program, both from the grantee’s and the program administrator’s perspectives, is handled more efficiently and effectively.

BVPP partnering agencies include the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the U.S. Census, the U.S. Department of the Treasury, and the following units within Justice:  the Office of Justice Programs, the Bureau of Justice Assistance, the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the National Institute of Justice, the Office of Administration, the Office of the Comptroller, and the Office of Community Oriented Policing Services.

Co-chairing FGIPC’s 1999 IOSS Awards Program were Sandra Jean Borden, U.S. Coast Guard, government co-chair, and Georgia Bailey, OAO Corporation, industry co-chair.

Return to IOSS Awards Page

Return to Table of Contents | Federations Facts Home Page | FGIPC Home Page

Copyright © 1999 Federation of  Government Information Processing Councils